PSC promotes Frank Mba to DIG


The Police Service Commission (PSC) has approved the appointment of Assistant Inspector General of Police (AIGs) Frank Mba as Deputy Inspector General of Police (DIGs).

This was contained in a statement by the PSC spokesperson, Ikechukwu Ani, on Friday.

Also promoted to DIG was Bala Ciroma.

Ani said DIG Ciroma will replace DIG Ali Janga who has retired from Service and had represented the North-East geopolitical zone in the Police Management Team.

According to him, “DIG Ciroma, the most senior Officer from the zone will henceforth represent the zone. DIG Mba will represent the South East zone and replace retired DIG John Amadi who before his retirement represented the zone”

Also promoted were 14 Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Assistant Inspectors General of Police and 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs) to the substantive rank of Commissioners.

The PSC said these decisions were highpoints of the 21st Plenary Meeting of the Commission presided over by its Chairman, Solomon Arase, who is a former Inspector General of Police, and attended by all the members of the commission, including the Permanent Secretary/ Secretary to the commission, Dr. (Mrs) Ifeoma Adaora Anyanwutaku.

The new AIGs are CP Abubakar Lawal, CP Alhassan Aminu, CP Abdul Umar, CP Shettima Zannah, CP Ebong Eyibio Ebong, CP Adepoju Ayiinde Ilori, and CP Okon Okon Effiong.

Others are CP Echeng Eworo Echeng, CP Susan Ukpanukiema Horsfall, CP Bankole Lanre Sikiru, CP Oladimeji Yomi Olarewaju, CP Sani Gwarzo, and CP Odama Paul Ojeka.

The 22 Deputy Commissioners of Police promoted to the rank of Commissioners are DCP Abibo Deinma Reuben, DCP Thomas Abraham Nabhoni, DCP Wakil Abdul Salamai, DCP Enyinnaya Inonachi, DCP Ronke Nurat Okunade, and DCP Adekunle Ismail Olusokan.

They also include DCP Hassan Abdu Yabnet, DCP Festus Chinedu Oko, DCP Aminu Baba Raji, DCP Omolara Ibidun Oluntola, DCP Akoh Benedict Gabriel, DCP Alamutu Abiodun Mustapha, DCP Bafda Magaji Jahun, DCP Ahmadu Tijani Abdullahi, and DCP Mohamned Mu’azu.

Others are DCP Bretet Emmanuel Simon, DCP Ihebom M Chukuma, DCP Shettima Mohamned Qurtu, DCP Olatokunbo Maxwell Olabisi, DCP Yusuf Mohammed Lawal, DCP Monica Leo, and DCP Abaniwonda Surajudeen Olufemi.

The Commission also approved the promotion of 24 Assistant Commissioners of Police to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners, Channels Television reports.

They include ACP Ezekiel Ibrahim, Project Monitoring Unit, Force Headquarters, Abuja; Mohammed Shamsudeen, Assistant Director, OPS, Kaduna (NCCSALW); ACP Khan Salihu Usman, Networking Admin ICT FHQ, Abuja; ACP Wan Mantu Chongs, Commander PMF 19 Portharcourt; and Baba Lawan Audu, Area Commander, Exeter Akwa-Ibom State Command.

The appointments were also given to Okon Etim Asuquo, Department of Operations, Benue State Command; Louis Chike Nwabuwa, Department of Operations, Plateau State Command; ACP Samuel Osman Onoja, Police College Oji River; ACP Sa’ad Yahaya and ACP Ibrahim Jibrin, Commanders 76 PMF, Nsukka and 56 PMF Ogoni amongst others.

The PSC also approved the promotion of 39 Chief Superintendents of Police to Assistant Commissioners of Police, including CSPs Joseph Udoh; Nze Helen Omeba; Uduaku Isaac Udom; and Anthony Francis Etim.

Others are Benjamin Kelembus Bello; Abdullahi Idris Abubakar; Ogbonnaya Nwota and Daiyabu Mohammed Ahmed among others.

It also approved the acting appointment of CSP Akande Bamidele to acting Assistant Commissioner of Police.

The two AIGs, 14 CPs and 22 DCPs appeared before the Commission in Plenary for an interactive session, a requirement for their new ranks.

The plenary meeting also approved a new Instrument of Delegation on delegated powers to the Inspector General of Police.

The statement added that Arase congratulated the newly promoted officers and charged them to reciprocate the commission’s good gesture by rededicating themselves to the service of their fatherland.

The PSC chairman promised to ensure that police promotions would be regular, so that officers are not allowed to stagnate in any rank.

He commended other members of the commission for their dedication and sacrifice, stressing that a new and brighter future “is here for the Nigeria Police Force”.

No comments